Ground Floor – it’s all happening!

Blogging has taken a back seat the last couple of weeks as we start to prepare for our move. I know it is still a few months away (mid/late April at this stage) but after 17 years in our current home we have A LOT to do. We spent the first 15 years of married life moving every 15 – 18 months overseas and in Australia so we didn’t get the chance to accumulate ‘stuff’! I had no idea until this last couple of weeks how much ‘stuff’ we had accumulated and so we have had to start culling our ‘stuff’. This has been quite difficult for me, easy peasy for my better half and an absolute nightmare for our daughter who is a bit of a hoarder! Along with the culling we have started doing all those little and big jobs around  the house that we have been meaning to do over time (17  yrs!) – and so we have been kept busy.

In the mean time things have been progressing well at the block and  it is such a good feeling when we drive to our block and see several Utes parked outside and tradies busy at work.

The roof carpentry has been completed and next stop will be the colourbond roofing .

2014-11-12 17.44.56

 

The electrician and plumber have been busy too  ………

2014-11-21 18.24.06

Unfortunately the shower in the ensuite is in the wrong place and too close to the shower entrance so we would end up with water everywhere! This will need to be sorted.

2014-11-21 18.18.17

The external rendering is also well underway ……..

2014-11-17 17.49.23

As the build progresses and starts taking shape we are starting to rethink  our landscaping plan so be prepared for a revision on landscaping!

7 comments on “Ground Floor – it’s all happening!

  1. Culling stuff is so hard! I always find it funny how people (myself included) are quite happy to live with things being broken around the house and only get around to fixing things when they need to sell. I’m currently fixing up our front yard so it looks nice when we sell too, couldn’t care less if it looks like a junkyard otherwise 😉
    Great progress on the build 🙂

  2. Reading your comment made me laugh Trixee as i said exactly the same thing to my better half this afternoon. We should have done all these jobs ages ago and got the enjoyment out of it. Crazy! 🙂

  3. I echo the sentiment about culling! My husband tells me I’m a hoarder and I think he maybe right😜 I just find it hard to get rid of stuff! I have clothes and shoes that I haven’t worn in years. It’s time to edit the wardrobe so I might not need such a big closet. Good luck with the culling sesh and thumbs up for the great progress on the block!

  4. What an awesome idea for a blog! So cool to have all of your ideas and progress in one place! We hope to build in the next five years or so… still in an apartment at this stage. I will have to check back here for inspiration! 🙂

    • Thank you Laura. I am having fun finding my way around blogging. I have been inspired by some very talented home building bloggers and it certainly helps me stay sane!
      I am enjoying your beautifully written blog with your amazing photos and delicious food. 🙂

Leave a Reply

