Concrete and cabinets

My early morning walks on our local beach where I start my day :)
My early morning walks on our local beach where I start my day 🙂

Early morning  walks

I am feeling a lot happier with the progress at our place this week and thinking that we might and I stress might just get handover in May. We are supposed to get handover May 1 which I think is very unlikely but I will be quite happy if we can get in for mid May.

The week started well with footings bèing dug for our raised beds and front courtyard wall and the concrete was poured for our garage, front porch and alfresco.

Our normally shy grandson J was very keen to be in all my pics on this day lol.

Footings for eastern raised garden bed and our beautiful  J x
Footings for eastern raised garden bed and our beautiful J x
Alfresco concrete
Alfresco concrete
Front courtyard wall footings
Front courtyard wall footings
Garage concrete
Garage concrete
Front porch concrete
Front porch concrete

And as if this wasn’t exciting enough – some of the cabinetry was delivered!

Kichen cabinetry
Kichen cabinetry
2015-03-04 15.22.19
Back wall cabinetry in Laminex Moose Silk – love, love it!

On Thursday they started installing the cabinetry and I have to say I was so excited seeing these all in place. It is really starting to feel like it is coming together now.

Centre island which will have Essastone Basalto sonte top (still hoping I've made the right decision on this one)
Centre island which will have Essastone Basalto stone top (still hoping I’ve made the right decision on this one)
kitchenette - Polytec stone grey gloss
kitchenette – Polytec stone grey gloss
kitchen island
kitchen island
Kitchen and scullery cabinets
Kitchen and scullery cabinets
Scullery cabinets
Scullery cabinets
Laundry
Laundry
Ensuite
Ensuite

Work came to a grinding holt on Friday when there were a few problems with some of the cabinets………………….

In the kitchen the cut out for the induction top was too small. I am hoping that this won’t be a problem and the cut out can just be made bigger but it will depend on how the gas and induction tops look with a smaller space between them. We also noticed that there was no space for a bin recess so this will  also need to be sorted out.

Gas and induction cut out
Gas and induction cut out

The upstairs cabinetry will also need some adjustment as the set of drawers that were made to fit into the space are too big. Hopefully these are easily fixed and work will carry on early next week.

Kitchenette - drawers too big for area
Kitchenette – drawers too big for area

We have been told that Jason windows will be installing the rest of the frames and glass on March 12th and I really can’t wait as we are just a ‘little’ bit concerned with all the internal work going on and having our home completely open. My tiles aren’t looking too hot at the moment with all the sand etc that is being brought inside with the wind and tradies so I do hope they are as hard wearing as I thought!

And last of all the electrician fitted the lights up the stairs.

Lights on stairs
Lights on stairs with grandson J checking they are correct lol
12 comments on “Concrete and cabinets

  1. WOW cabinets look amazing! Hopefully the errors you picked up aren’t too hard to fix and you don’t get delayed. It’s coming together now for you. You’ve also given me some ideas for the laundry. I want to get some extra joinery made and I love the inbuilt basket and all those lovely big drawers you have in yours. Thanks😄

    • Thanks Sheilzy – I am looking forward to having an inbuilt basket as we’ve always had linen baskets trying to find a home somewhere in the laundry 😃

  2. So many drawers = complete luxury! I love the stone colour laminate. That looks luxurious too. Your house tour guide did an excellent job! I wonder if he bought his bucket and spade for all that sand outside. Fingers crossed for May!

    • I did go a bit wild with drawers Jo as I have this thing about not having enough storage.
      Our little tour guide should have brought his bucket and spade and he would have been able to build sandcastles inside with all the sand in the hoise lol ☺

  3. I was wondering why people didn’t seem to be blogging much, turns out I just wasn’t getting the notifications. D’oh! Anyway, that moose silk is a lovely colour! Cabinetry looks very luxurious, and those kitchen windows are going to be stunning.

    • Thanks Trixee. I am enjoying seeing our selections become a reality. I do hold my breath each time I walk inside in case I’ve booobed with colours etc. So far so good 🙂

  4. It’s all coming together so well! So exciting when you can see more tangible changes and little details being added that you’ve spent so long planning 🙂 Haha. Love the addition of your grandson in the mix. Little people make the world so much more interesting! x

Leave a Reply

